The Red Dress…

It has been two months and two days since the unexpected happened. A day like any other I had thought it would be; a day filled with tedious routine and chores that could kill a horse: wash the dog, weed the garden, cook and prepare for Sunday brunch when my mother-in-law (who after all this time had still not accepted me) was to come over, take the parrots to the vet, attend client meets, do our taxes and at the same time be a wife and a mother (not necessarily in that order)

Everything was very ‘rosy’ in my household at that time and the atmosphere was very tense. My marriage was going through a rough time and my two teenagers were being, well, teenagers. I mean, it was a full blown 21st century modern family. My daughter Sacha was mad at me for grounding her, confiscating her phone and taking away her car privileges. This was after I found her alone with a guy in her room at midnight and later discovered that she had snuck out to go see the Black Eyed Peas after we had explicitly forbidden it. So I had to deal with the silent daggers that accompanied every ‘Die, bitch die’ glance and every mutinous stare she gave as she pranced around the house.

My ‘big’ boy Alex was also dealing with a few things; namely a girl named Beth, for whom he soiled his boxers every night as he fantasized on what he deemed impossible. He was having a hard time making sense of all this and had, as every passive aggressive teenager would, offloaded it to his mama, begging me to find a way to remove this thorn in his flesh (though I hadn’t the slightest clue what to do). He had refused to talk to his dad about it, though he was better suited to address it because listening was not his dad’s super power.

I could not raise it up with my husband either because he was very distant with me at that time. Tomb silence, short grunts and snorts, sarcastic remarks and blank stares had been the characteristic of our marriage the previous few months. Things had started changing ever since he got that new job. I tried to be understanding that it takes some time to adjust to anew environment; that and having a female boss can be quite a lot to deal with for a man’s ego.

It started with the long working nights and the several trips out of town. Initially, I was okay with it, but then I started to miss him; my soul missed him and my body missed to strong embrace of his. Each time he would come home, he would be more distant than when he left. I tried to raise it up but it was shut down as quickly as it came up. He assured me that I was over thinking things and that all was well. He was just having some stresses at work and dealing with some ‘manly’ stuff but nothing that he could not handle. Truth is, though, it was not okay. Soon, the roses stopped coming, the dates ceased and the romance dried up. I was spent and emotionally deprived but I hung in there, for him, for us.

Then, I was thrown a curve ball on that fateful day. After running all my errands, I ran home expecting to find my boo waiting for me (He was to come home early that day). Who knows, maybe if he saw how exhausted I was he would offer to make dinner and give me a footsy rub [I knew I badly needed one]

I got home to find the front door unlocked, which was odd because my husband was more paranoid of espionage than that blonde chick from Homeland. I shouted his name but got no response. I dropped the shopping and rushed upstairs, with my heart in my hands, praying that my fears would be disproved. I got into our room and breathed out in relief when I did not see any blood. I looked around and noticed an envelope and a package with a rose on it. “I wonder who these are for.” (After not having received one in so long, it was hard to believe they could be for me. That ship had sailed). My curiosity got the better of me and I opened the envelope. In it was inscribe a short but possibly the sweetest message I had gotten in a while. “Thank you for being strong for me. I hope you like it.” With bated breath and a possible adrenaline overdose I opened the package as carefully as my impatience could allow me, hoping not to destroy my gift in the process.

What I found inside sucked all the air out of my lungs. There, in front of me was another rose flower, the pearl necklace that I had bitched about for as long as I could remember and a bottle of red wine. There was another note which said, “For my little red flower. Put it on, I have sent a limo to bring you to our secret meadow. I hope I got your size right. Look up.” I looked up at my closet door and saw the perfect dress: a Nessa May couture red dress, strapless of course. Looking at it just made me fall in love with Greg all over again. “He is such a doll”

I got dressed hurriedly, careful enough not to get a crease on my dress. It was, of course, couture. I made myself up, taking my time to ensure that every line and every shade was just right. I even got out my Poison Ivy perfume…tonight was the night to slay him once again. I got out the shoes that elevated my hinds just the way he liked it. By the time I was coming down the stairs and getting into the limo, I looked so good, I felt bad.

As the limo snaked its way to our destination, I could not help but shed a tear, not just In the sudden change in my husband but at just how adorbs I looked in that dress. My perfect little red dress that had spelt a change in trajectory, not just in my marriage but in my life.

Don’t wait up kids…it’s gonna be a long night…♠

Leave a Reply

